STS-112 Mission Journal  

STS-112 Mission Journal - Part 2

Note: The links below will open up in one new browser window. For best viewing, size the two web browsers so that they don't take up the entire screen - this way, you will be able to go back and forth to all the stories without losing your place.
Click the Refresh button to make sure you have the newest version.


New! NASA Gifts and more at The Space Store!

Pick up some cool Space Toys for your favorite astronaut this holiday season! Click here...
Jump to Space Shuttle coverage
Watch live video on NASA TV!

(Check schedule here).
Live Audio and Video feeds!
Atlantis approaching the ISS. NASA photo.
SHUTTLE UPDATE:
Atlantis mission STS-112 to Space Station Alpha.
The Shuttle has landed. Latest coverage here!
NASA image of STS-112 crew patch, representing the addition of the S1 Truss to Space Station Alpha's structure.

  • 09 October 2002 - Evening Update - Flight Day 3 saw the commencement of joint operations between the six-member Atlantis crew and the trio from ISS's Expedition FiveNASA reports:

    Expedition Five Welcomes STS-112 Crew Aboard ISS
    Whitson welcomes Wolf. NASA image.Expedition Five Commander Valery Korzun, Flight Engineer Sergei Treschev and NASA ISS Science Officer Peggy Whitson welcomed the STS-112 crew aboard the International Space Station at 11:51 a.m. CDT (1651 GMT) Wednesday. The STS-112 crew is Expedition Five's first set of visitors at the station since June.
    Atlantis leaps into space. The Shuttle launched Monday from KSC. NASA Photo No: KSC-02pp-1476Atlantis' arrival also sets the stage for the expansion of the station. The two crews will use the station's robot arm, Canadarm2, to attach the S1 (S-One) Truss Thursday morning. After it is attached, STS-112 spacewalkers will begin the process of activating and outfitting the S1. The STS-112 crew will conduct three spacewalks during its stay.
    Watch NASA TV on Thursday to see coverage of the installation of the S1 (S-One) Truss onto the International Space Station and the first STS-112 spacewalk. The S1 is scheduled to be attached to the ISS at 8:06 a.m. CDT [9:06AM EDT/1306 GMT] and Mission Spcecialists Dave Wolf and Piers Sellers are slated to begin the 6.5-hour spacewalk at 9:41 a.m. CDT [10:41AM EDT/1441 GMT]. NASA TV Schedule

  • 09 October - Afternoon Update - DOCKED! - Shuttle Atlantis has docked with Space Station Alpha, and the crews are busy getting ready for tomorrow's spacewalk, the first of three scheduled for this missionNASA reports:

    STS-112 Arrives at Station
    NASA photo of Space Shuttle Atlantis as seen from Space Station Alpha, with the Earth's surface visible in the background.Space Shuttle Atlantis reached its destination at 10:17 a.m. CDT [11:17AM EDT/1517 GMT] today when it docked with the International Space Station. Docking occurred as the two vehicles flew over western China.
    STS-112 Commander Jeff Ashby, Pilot Pam Melroy and Mission Specialists Sandy Magnus, David Wolf, Piers Sellers and Fyodor Yurchikhin entered the station for the first time at 11:51 a.m. CDT [12:51PM EDT/1651 GMT] today.
    NASA TV capture of Atlantis approaching the International Space Station's docking ring.Attention now turns to the installation of the S1 (S-One) Truss onto the station and STS-112's first spacewalk. The S1 is slated to be attached at 8:06 a.m. CDT [9:06AM EDT/1306 GMT] Thursday. STS-112 Mission Specialists David Wolf and Piers Sellers will start the process of activating and outfitting the S1 during the spacewalk, which is slated to begin at 9:41 a.m. CDT [10:41AM EDT/1441 GMT] Thursday.

    Docking photos here. Flight Day 2 videos are up. Stay tuned...


  • 09 October 2002 - Docking Day - Flight Day 3 is here, and Atlantis will link up with the International Space Station this morningNASA reports:

    STS-112 to Dock with Station Today
    STS-112 Mission Specialist Piers Sellers reviews a procedure on Atlantis' flight deck Wednesday. NASA image.Space Shuttle Atlantis and its six-member crew are close to wrapping up their pursuit of the International Space Station. Atlantis is scheduled to link up with the station at 10:24 a.m. CDT (1524 GMT) today to begin a week of joint operations for the STS-112 and Expedition Five crews. STS-112 Commander Jeff Ashby, Pilot Pam Melroy and Mission Specialists Sandy Magnus, David Wolf, Piers Sellers and Fyodor Yurchikhin will enter the station and greet the Expedition Five crew about two hours after docking.
    The main objective of STS-112ís visit to the orbital outpost is the installation of the S1 (S-One) Truss, which is currently riding to the station in Atlantisí payload bay. The S1 is the third piece of the 11-piece Integrated Truss Structure to be delivered to the station. It will give the station more power-generation and science capabilities. The STS-112 crew will perform three spacewalks to install and activate the new component. The two crews will also transfer cargo between the shuttle and station.

    After the 11:24AM EDT docking, the hatches will open at about 1PM EDT and the crews will meet. Check the play-by-play links at right for up-to-the-minute status, and watch NASA TV to see the docking live.

 

  • 08 October 2002 - Evening Update - Atlantis will dock with Space Station Alpha tomorrow morning at 11:24AM EDT.  NASA reports:

    STS-112 Crew Prepares for Arrival at Station, Spacewalks
    An awesome view of liftoff, as seen by the new ShuttleCam. NASA Photo No: KSC-02pd-1456 The STS-112 crew spent its first full day in orbit preparing for docking with the International Space Station and its spacewalks. The crewmembers set up equipment that will be used in Space Shuttle Atlantis' approach and docking with the orbital outpost. Commander Jeff Ashby and Pilot Pam Melroy refined the shuttle's orbit with three engine burns to assist in the pursuit of the station.
    Mission Specialists David Wolf and Piers Sellers prepared for their three extravehicular activities by checking out equipment that they will use. Wolf and Piers will conduct all three spacewalks, during which they will assist in the installation of the S1 (S-One) Truss onto the station and its outfitting and activation. Also, Ashby and Mission Specialist Sandy Magnus worked with the shuttle's robot arm to check out the arm's readiness and conduct a survey of the S1 in the payload bay.
    In other activities, Wolf worked with the SHIMMER experiment -- an investigation that looks for possible ozone loss in Earth's atmosphere.
    Watch NASA TV on Wednesday to see coverage of the arrival of STS-112 at the International Space Station. Space Shuttle Atlantis is slated to dock with the orbital outpost at 10:24 a.m. CDT [11:24AM EDT/1524 GMT]. Then, the STS-112 and Expedition Five crews are scheduled to greet each other about 12:30 p.m. CDT [1:30PM EDT/1730 GMT]. NASA TV Schedule

    The Space Shuttle lifted off yesterday afternoon under the tight security that has become typical since the terrorist attacks of 11 Sep 2001. Six small aircraft were intercepted in the "no-fly zone" around the launchpad yesterday, but none were considered to be threats. F-15 fighters escorted them out of the area.

    Ask the MCC answers are now available.


  • 08 October 2002 - Tuesday - Flight Day 2 has Atlantis and her crew of six chasing Space Station Alpha, where the Expedition Five crew wait for their first visitors since June. NASA reports:

    Atlantis Closes in on Space Station
    The STS-112 crew gets ready for the drive to the launchpad yesterday. NASA Photo No KSC-02pd-1452
    The six STS-112 crewmembers will spend their first day in orbit preparing for their arrival at the International Space Station and the activities that they will perform during their weeklong stay. Commander Jeff Ashby and Pilot Pam Melroy will check out shuttle systems and perform engine burns to refine Atlantisí pursuit of the station. Atlantis is scheduled to link up with the outpost at 10:24 a.m. CDT [11:24AM EDT/1524 GMT] Wednesday.
    The other crewmembers will prepare for the missionís three spacewalks, during which the S1 (S-One) Truss will be attached to the station and activated. Mission Specialists Piers Sellers and David Wolf will perform the first spacewalk, beginning at 9:41 a.m. CDT [10:41AM EDT/1441 GMT] Thursday.

    Flight Day 1 videos are now available in the NASA Gallery, including a clip from the new ShuttleCam.

 

  • 07 October 2002 - Evening Update - NASA image of STS-112 LaunchThe crew of Atlantis continues on orbit, heading for a Wednesday rendezvous with the International Space Station. Today's launch marks the end of a four-month hiatus in flights, caused by cracks found in metal liners within liquid hydrogen fuel pipes in the Shuttle fleet, as well as trouble with the massive crawler-transporters that haul the Shuttles to their launchpads.

    Launch video is up at KSC.


  • 07 October - Afternoon Update - LIFTOFF! - "Building the Station and our future in space": A beautiful, on-time launch for Atlantis! The new Shuttlecam gave a unique view of the launch (in addition to the other camera angles). NASA reports:

    Space Shuttle Atlantis Launches
    NASA image of STS-112 launchSTS-112 began when Space Shuttle Atlantis successfully launched from Kennedy Space Center, Fla., at 2:46 p.m. CDT [3:46PM EDT/1946 GMT] Monday. Atlantis and its six-member crew are en route to the International Space Station.
    NASA photo of STS-112 launch.While at the station, the STS-112 crew -- Commander Jeff Ashby, Pilot Pam Melroy and Mission Specialists Sandy Magnus, Piers Sellers, David Wolf and Fyodor Yurchikhin -- will work with the Expedition Five crew to continue the outward expansion of the orbital outpost. The STS-112 crew will conduct three spacewalks to install the S1 (S-One) Truss and transfer cargo. Atlantis is slated to dock with the station at 10:29 a.m. CDT [11:29AM EDT/1529 GMT] Wednesday.
    Click here for an interactive view of STS-112 (Requires Flash Player).

  • 07 October - Morning Update - The countdown continues. NASA reports:

    Atlantis Set to Launch Today
    Atlantis awaits: The Shuttle is ready to go in this NASA photo from last night.Space Shuttle Program managers announced that Space Shuttle Atlantis and its six-member crew will begin their journey to the International Space Station at 2:46 p.m. CDT [3:46PM EDT/1946 GMT] today. The launch countdown continues to proceed at Kennedy Space Center, Fla.
    Forecasts indicate an 80-percent chance of favorable weather at launch time. The main concern is for possible isolated thunderstorms due to a weak frontal boundary moving into northern Florida early this week.
    STS-112 will be 15th shuttle flight to visit the space station. The missionís primary objective is the delivery and installation of the S1 (S-One) Truss to the international outpost. The STS-112 crew will perform three spacewalks to install and activate the new component. The crew will also deliver supplies and equipment to the station.
    Watch NASA TV to see live coverage of the STS-112 launch, beginning at 11:30 a.m. CDT [12:30PM EDT/1630 GMT] today. NASA TV Schedule

    Check the play-by-play links at right for up-to-the-minute status, and watch NASA TV to see the launch live - including views from the "Shuttlecam"!


  • 07 October 2002 - LAUNCH DAY - Happy Monday, folks. It appears that yesterday's concerns with the fuel-cell systems aboard Atlantis have been addressed, so we are on track for this afternoon's 3:45:51PM EDT launchNASA reports:

    STS-112 to Use External Tank Camera During Launch
    Pre-launch view of the Space Shuttle Atlantis from the camera mounted on the External Tank. NASA image.For the first time, space shuttle astronauts will carry television viewers along for the initial ride into orbit when Space Shuttle Atlantis lifts off Oct. 7. NASA Television viewers should see a spectacular live view of the orbiter from a color video camera mounted to the top of the External Tank. The camera, which will provide a view of the front and belly of the orbiter and a portion of the Solid Rocket Boosters and External Tank, will offer the STS-112 team an opportunity to monitor the shuttle's performance from a new angle.
    The camera is expected to operate for 30 minutes -- 15 minutes before and 15 minutes after liftoff. It will provide views of launch and separation of the right booster and the External Tank.
    Join in KSC Direct's live webcast as the coverage of the countdown to launch of Atlantis continues. Live Video Stream

    There is a 90% chance of good weather at KSC. Keep an eye on the play-by-play links at right and watch NASA TV to see the launch live - including views from the "Shuttlecam"!

 

STS-112 Links...


Play-By-Play:

Spaceflight Now!

Florida Today
Launch   EVA1   EVA2

Space.com

CBS News


National Geographic's Store has great gift ideas.
Watch Five Years On Mars this Monday (Nov 17) on the National Geographic Channel!
Double DVD!
Join the live video stream from KSC. Realplayer required.
Reference:

Shuttle Press Kit

CNN Mission Guide

SpaceRef Mission Guide

ISS Press Kit

The Sportsman's Guide
Name Brand Outdoor and Recreational Gear, Clothing, Hiking, Camping, Hunting and Footwear at heavily discounted prices.
sportsmansguide
NASA STS-112 Photo Galleries:

Johnson
Space Center

Kennedy
Space Center

Mission News:

Houston Chronicle

Space.com

KSC Liftoff Status

Spaceflight Now!

Great Unique Gifts...
15% off for first-time registrants: expires 01/31/04
50% off with purchase: expires 01/31/04
Quadra Special: ongoing
50% off with purchase: expires 01/31/04
... at The Sharper Image
Shuttle Headlines:

NASA Watch

Google News

Yahoo! News

Discovery Channel

Signature Edition DVD Set
Dell
SAVE with Special On-Line Coupons for DELL Computers and Accessories - Click Here!
Aircraft and Military Vehicle Models
Banner 10000165
History' Finest Fighting Machines Recreated

ili_Peppers-125x125
Give the gift of music with iTunes gift certificates
Jump to Space Shuttle coverage
Watch live video on NASA TV!

(Check schedule here).
Live Audio and Video feeds!


Copyright © 1999-2008 Net Engineers. All rights reserved. Top of page Home
Revised: 11 Nov 2008