STS-112 Mission Journal  

STS-112 Mission Journal - Part 3

Note: The links below will open up in one new browser window. For best viewing, size the two web browsers so that they don't take up the entire screen - this way, you will be able to go back and forth to all the stories without losing your place.
Click the Refresh button to make sure you have the newest version.


New! NASA Gifts and more at The Space Store!

Pick up some cool Space Toys for your favorite astronaut this holiday season! Click here...
Jump to Space Shuttle coverage
Watch live video on NASA TV!

(Check schedule here).
Live Audio and Video feeds!
Atlantis Astronauts work on the Space Station's S1 Truss during the first of three STS-112 spacewalks. A corner of one of the Station's solar arrays is visible at right. NASA TV capture.
SHUTTLE UPDATE:
Atlantis mission STS-112 to Space Station Alpha.
The Shuttle has landed. Latest coverage here!
NASA image of STS-112 crew patch, representing the addition of the S1 Truss to Space Station Alpha's structure.

Here are some pics from Saturday's spacewalk:
It's a long way down! Here's the view from orbit. NASA TV capture. Spacewalker Piers Sellers outside the ISS. NASA TV capture. Computer graphic of Atlantis docked to the ISS. NASA TV capture. Astronauts Sellers (left, pointed away on the robot arm) and Wolf (right) working outside the ISS. NASA TV capture. Astronauts Sellers (left, riding the arm) and Wolf (right) working outside the ISS. NASA TV capture. STS-112 astronauts Wolf (left, with stripes on legs) and Sellers (right) working outside the ISS. NASA TV capture. STS-112 astronaut David Wolf working outside the ISS, riding its robot arm. NASA TV capture. Another computer graphic of the ISS, showing the Station's robot arm in front of the Destiny lab. NASA TV capture. Another computer graphic of Atlantis docked to the ISS. The Soyuz escape vehicle is depicted at right. NASA TV capture.
- Click thumbnail for full-size image -

  • 12 October 2002 - Evening Update - Another successful EVA is in the books. The spacewalking duo completed their work nearly half an hour early.   NASA reports:

    Wolf, Sellers Complete Second Spacewalk at Space Station
    Following the completion of their second spacewalk, STS-112 Mission Specialists Piers Sellers, far left, and David Wolf, far right, receive assistance getting out of their spacesuits in the Quest Airlock. STS-112 Mission Specialists Fyodor Yurchikhin assists Sellers, and STS-112 Pilot Pam Melroy and Expedition Five Commander Valery Korzun, at top, assist Wolf. NASA image.Astronauts Piers Sellers and David Wolf concluded STS-112's second space walk at the International Space Station at 3:35 p.m. CDT [4:35PM EDT/2035 GMT] today. NASA image of spacewalker Piers Sellers The primary objective was to continue outfitting and activating the station's newest component, the S1 (S-One) Truss. They installed Spool Positioning Devices to prevent pressure buildup in line fittings; connected cooling system lines; and removed launch restraints from a radiator that will be deployed Sunday. They also installed a camera system on the Destiny Laboratory Module.
    STS-112 Astronauts Dave Wolf, left, and Piers Sellers began their second spacewalk at the International Space Station's robotic arm end effector. Sellers will spend most of the spacewalk being carried by the arm. NASA image.STS-112 Pilot Pam Melroy coordinated the spacewalk, and STS-112 Mission Specialist Sandy Magnus and NASA ISS Science Officer Peggy Whitson operated the station's robotic arm. The spacewalk lasted 6 hours, 4 minutes. The third spacewalk is slated to begin at 9:41 a.m. CDT [10:41AM EDT/1441 GMT] Monday.
    STS-112 Astronauts Piers Sellers, left, and David Wolf install a camera on the outside of the the International Space Station's Destiny Laboratory Module during STS-112's second spacewalk. This image was captured from footage from a camera Sellers and Wolf installed onto the station during a their first spacewalk. NASA image.Prior to the start of the spacewalk, Commander Jeff Ashby and Pilot Pam Melroy fired Space Shuttle Atlantis' engines to raise orbit of the station.
    Watch NASA TV at 1:31 p.m. CDT [2:31PM EDT/1831 GMT] Sunday to see the Joint Crew News Conference. NASA TV Schedule

    Flight Day 5 videos are now available in the NASA Gallery.


  • 12 October - Afternoon Update - As we continue our Saturday coverage, we are well into the second EVA for this flightNASA reports:

    Astronauts Start Second Spacewalk
    Spacewalker Piers Sellers emerges from the Quest airlock. NASA image.STS-112ís second spacewalk is under way. Mission Specialists David Wolf and Piers Sellers began the excursion at 9:31 a.m. CDT [10:31AM EDT/1431 GMT] and are scheduled to end it about 4 p.m. CDT [5PM EDT/2100 GMT].

    Stay tuned....


  • 12 October 2002 - It's Flight Day 6, and we have the second of three EVAs scheduled for this morning. NASA reports:

    Astronauts Prepare for Second Spacewalk
    The nose of Atlantis, with the Reaction Control thrusters visible, as seen from the ISS. NASA photo.STS-112ís second spacewalk is scheduled to begin at 9:41 a.m. CDT [10:41AM EDT/1441 GMT] today. Mission Specialists David Wolf and Piers Sellers will once again be the spacewalkers, and they will continue outfitting and activating the S1 (S-One) Truss. The tasks will include: making data, power and fluid connections; setting up a second external camera system; and releasing more radiator beam launch locks.
    NASA ISS Science Officer Peggy Whitson will join STS-112 Commander Jeff Ashby, Pilot Pam Melroy and Mission Specialist Sandy Magnus to support the spacewalk from inside Space Shuttle Atlantis and the station. Melroy will coordinate spacewalk activities. Ashby will be at the controls of the shuttle robotic arm, and Magnus and Whitson will operate the station robotic arm.
    Watch NASA TV today to see coverage of STS-112's second spacewalk. The excursion is slated to wrap up at 4:11 p.m. CDT [5:11PM EDT/2111 GMT]. NASA TV Schedule

    Flight Day 3 pics are now available in the NASA Gallery. Check the play-by-play links at right for up-to-the-minute EVA status, and watch NASA TV to watch the astronauts at work.

 

  • 11 October 2002 - Evening Update - The second full day of docked operations is wrapped up. It was a relatively low-key day, coming in between yesterday's spacewalk and tomorrow's. The crews did some interviews and transferred supplies to the ISSNASA reports:

    STS-112 Astronauts Prepare for Second Spacewalk
    STS-112 Mission Specialist David Wolf during interviews today. NASA image.STS-112 crewmembers spent time Friday preparing for the mission's second spacewalk at the International Space Station. Mission Specialists David Wolf and Piers Sellers prepared the tools and equipment that they will use when they work outside the station. Near the end of their workday, STS-112 and Expedition Five crewmembers reviewed procedures for the spacewalk, which is slated to begin at 9:41 a.m. CDT [10:41AM EDT/1441 GMT] Saturday. Wolf and Sellers will continue outfitting and activating the station's newly installed S1 (S-One) Truss.
    In other activities Friday, Expedition Five and STS-112 crewmembers ... moved cargo from Space Shuttle Atlantis to the International Space Station. They also transferred experiments that will return to Earth with STS-112 from the station to the shuttle. Also, crewmembers participated in interviews with U.S. and Russian media.

    Flight Day 4 videos are now available in the NASA Gallery.


  • 11 October 2002 - Friday - After yesterday's successful Truss installation and EVA (see pics below), Flight Day 5 will be spent transferring supplies onto the Space Station, and prepping for the second EVA tomorrow. NASA reports:

    Crews to Transfer Supplies
    Cosmonaut Fyodor Yurchikhin is one of three Atlantis crewmwmbers making their first space flights on this mission.The STS-112 and Expedition Five crews will spend part of today transferring equipment and supplies from Space Shuttle Atlantis to the International Space Station. In anticipation of Saturday's extravehicular activity, or EVA, spacewalkers David Wolf and Piers Sellers will prepare their EVA tools and equipment.
    Also on today's schedule are two media interviews, which can be seen on NASA TV. First, Expedition Five Commander Valery Korzun, Expedition Five Flight Engineer Sergei Treschev and STS-112 Mission Specialist Fyodor Yurchikhin will talk with the Russian press at 10:46 a.m. CDT [11:46AM EDT/1546 GMT]. Then, at 1:56 p.m. CDT [2:56PM EDT/1856 GMT], several STS-112 crewmembers will discuss their mission with U.S. news outlets CBS Radio, Fox News and CNN.

    Stay tuned...

 

Here are some pics from Thursday's spacewalk:
In this NASA TV capture, STS-112 Mission Specialist David Wolf works outside the International Space Station's Qwest airlock. NASA TV capture of the first of three spacewalks for mission STS-112. Those are Piers Sellers' feet you see sticking up. (That is, if there is an "up"). NASA TV capture of British-born astronaut Piers Sellers, seen from fellow spacewalker David Wolf's helmet-cam. NASA TV capture of Piers Sellers, high above the Earth, seen from fellow spacewalker David Wolf's helmet-cam. NASA TV capture of spacewalker David Wolf outside the ISS. NASA TV capture of spacewalkers David Wolf and Piers Sellers working outside the ISS.

  • 10 October 2002 - Evening Update - Flight Day 4 was a busy and extremely successful one for the 9 space voyagers in orbit. First, astronauts Magnus and Whitson attached the S-1 Truss with the Station's robot arm. Then, Atlantis crewmen Wolf and Sellers ventured outside to make the connections to truly make it a part of the Space Station. They overcame some difficulties which stretched their excursion to 7 hours.  NASA reports:

    Crew Completes First Spacewalk
    Mission Specialist Piers Sellers prepares to attach an S-band antenna to the International Space Station's S1 (S-One) Truss during STS-112's first spacewalk. This view is from Mission Specialist David Wolf's helmet camera. NASA image.STS-112's first spacewalk concluded at 5:22 p.m. CDT (2222 GMT) Thursday. During the 7-hour, 1-minute excursion, Astronauts David Wolf and Piers Sellers attached fluid, data and electrical lines to the S1 (S-One) Truss, which was installed onto the International Space Station before the start of the spacewalk. Other tasks completed by the spacewalkers included releasing locks on a radiator beam, deploying an antenna and releasing restraints on a handcar located on the S1.
    In this NASA image looking down the length of the InternationalSpace Station's newly installed S1 (S-One) Truss, STS-112 Astronauts David Wolf, in the foreground, and Piers Sellers work to activate and outfit the S1 during the mission's first spacewalk.While they worked outside, the spacewalkers received assistance from inside. Pilot Pam Melroy choreographed the extravehicular activity, and Commander Jeff Ashby operated Space Shuttle Atlantis' robot arm. STS-112 Mission Specialist Sandy Magnus and NASA ISS Science Officer Peggy Whitson operated the station's arm to attach the S1 to the station and during the spacewalk.
    Wolf and Sellers will conduct two more spacewalks to continue outfitting and activating the S1. The next spacewalk is slated to begin at 9:41 a.m. CDT [10:41AM EDT/1441 GMT] Saturday.
    NASA TV capture of the S1 Truss being mounted on the International Space Station, using its robotic arm, Canadarm 2 on Thursday (10 Oct 2002). Later that morning, two astronauts performed a spacewalk to connect cables and conduits to begin the process of activating the structure.Watch NASA TV at 10:46 a.m. CDT [11:46AM EDT/1546 GMT] Friday to see Expedition Five Commander Valery Korzun and Flight Engineer Sergei Treschev and STS-112 Mission Specialist Fyodor Yurchikhin field questions from Russian media.
    Then at 1:56 p.m. CDT [2:56PM EDT/1856 GMT], watch STS-112 Mission Specialists Sandy Magnus, Piers Sellers and David Wolf participate in interviews with the CBS Radio Network, Fox News Network and CNN. NASA TV Schedule

    More Launch Day and Flight Day 2 pics are now available in the NASA Gallery.


  • 10 October - Afternoon Update - The S1 Truss has been attached, and the spacewalk to activate it is underwayNASA reports:

    New Truss Segment Added to Space Station
    The S1 (S-One) Truss is transported to its permanent location by Canadarm2, the International Space Station's robotic arm. NASA image.STS-112 Mission Specialist Sandy Magnus and NASA ISS Science Officer Peggy Whitson installed the S1 (S-One) Truss to the International Space Station today at 8:36 a.m. CDT [9:36AM EDT/1336 GMT]. They used the stationís robot arm, Canadarm2, to attach the new component to the starboard end of the S0 (S-Zero) Truss.
    STS-112 Starts First Spacewalk
    NASA TV capture of Atlantis docked to the International Space Station yesterday. This is a close view of the Pressurized Mating Adapter, which allows crewmembers and supplies to pass freely between the two spacecraft.Mission Specialists David Wolf and Piers Sellers began STS-112ís first spacewalk at 10:21 a.m. CDT [11:21AM EDT/1521 GMT] today. Their main objective is to begin activating and outfitting the International Space Stationís newly installed S1 (S-One) Truss. The S1 was attached to the station earlier today by the station's robot arm.
    Their tasks include connecting power and data cables between the station and S1, installing a camera and antenna assembly and releasing a number of launch restraints. They are slated to wrap up the spacewalk, which is based out of the stationís Quest Airlock, about 5 p.m. CDT [6PM EDT/2200 GMT].

    Flight Day 3 videos are now available in the NASA Gallery.


  • 10 October 2002 - Thursday - Flight Day 4 will feature the first of three EVAsNASA reports:

    Crew Prepares for First Spacewalk
    STS-112 Commander Jeff Ashby, left, and Mission Specialists David Wolf and Piers Sellers get a first look at the International Space Station's U.S. Destiny Laboratory a few moments after entering the station yesterday. NASA TV image.The first of three STS-112 spacewalks is scheduled to get under way at 9:41 a.m. CDT [10:41AM EDT/1441 GMT] today. Spacewalkers David Wolf and Piers Sellers will begin outfitting and activating the S1 (S-One) Truss, which will be attached to the station before the start of the extravehicular activity. Their task will include connecting power, data and fluid lines between S1 and the station.
    Expedition Five Flight Engineer Peggy Whitson, left, and STS-112 Mission Specialist Sandy Magnus prepare to activate the station's robot arm for S1 Truss installation. NASA image.Wolf and Sellers will receive assistance during the excursion from inside Space Shuttle Atlantis and the station. STS-112 Commander Jeff Ashby and Pilot Pam Melroy will operate Atlantisí robot arm. Melroy and Mission Specialist Fyodor Yurchikhin will coordinate spacewalk activities. STS-112 Mission Specialist Sandy Magnus and NASA ISS Science Officer Peggy Whitson will operate the station's robot arm. The spacewalk is slated to wrap up at 4:11 p.m. CDT [5:11PM EDT/2111 GMT] today.

    Check the play-by-play links at right for up-to-the-minute status, and watch NASA TV to see live coverage of the spacewalk.

 

STS-112 Links...


Play-By-Play:

Spaceflight Now!

Florida Today
Launch
EVA1   EVA2

Space.com

CBS News


National Geographic's Store has great gift ideas.
Watch Five Years On Mars this Monday (Nov 17) on the National Geographic Channel!
Reference:

Shuttle Press Kit

CNN Mission Guide

SpaceRef Mission Guide

ISS Press Kit

Double DVD!
NASA STS-112 Photo Galleries:

Kennedy
Space Center

Johnson
Space Center

KSC Photo File

Great Unique Gifts...
15% off for first-time registrants: expires 01/31/04
50% off with purchase: expires 01/31/04
Quadra Special: ongoing
50% off with purchase: expires 01/31/04
... at The Sharper Image
Aircraft and Military Vehicle Models
Banner 10000165
History' Finest Fighting Machines Recreated

More STS-112 Photo Galleries:

Orlando Sentinel

Florida Today
Prelaunch   Launch

Space.com

Houston Chronicle

Neil Armstrong Bio!
Mission News:

Houston Chronicle

Space.com

KSC Liftoff Status

Spaceflight Now!

Great Unique Gifts...
15% off for first-time registrants: expires 01/31/04
50% off with purchase: expires 01/31/04
Quadra Special: ongoing
50% off with purchase: expires 01/31/04
... at The Sharper Image
Click Here For Rare Space Collectibles!
Want to own a piece of space history? Click here to purchase items that have actually flown in space!
Shuttle Headlines:

NASA Watch

Google News

Yahoo! News

Discovery Channel

Signature Edition DVD Set
Dell
SAVE with Special On-Line Coupons for DELL Computers and Accessories - Click Here!
The Sportsman's Guide
Name Brand Outdoor and Recreational Gear, Clothing, Hiking, Camping, Hunting and Footwear at heavily discounted prices.
sportsmansguide
ili_Peppers-125x125
Give the gift of music with iTunes gift certificates
Jump to Space Shuttle coverage
Watch live video on NASA TV!

(Check schedule here).
Live Audio and Video feeds!


Copyright © 1999-2008 Net Engineers. All rights reserved. Top of page Home
Revised: 11 Nov 2008