STS-113 Mission Journal  

STS-113 Mission Journal - Part 4

Note: The links below will open up in one new browser window. For best viewing, size the two web browsers so that they don't take up the entire screen - this way, you will be able to go back and forth to all the stories without losing your place.
Click the Refresh button to make sure you have the newest version.


New! NASA Gifts and more at The Space Store!

Pick up some cool Space Toys for your favorite astronaut this holiday season! Click here...

Check our NASA TV page for live feeds!

John Herrington prepares to leave the airlock on the first EVA. NASA photo
SHUTTLE UPDATE:
Endeavour has landed!
Latest news here.
NASA image of STS-113 crew patch, representing the addition of the P1 Truss to Space Station Alpha's structure, as well as the ISS crew exchange.
LEFT: John Herrington going out on the first of three spacewalks.
RIGHT: STS-113 mission patch.

  • 28 November 2002 - Evening Update - The second of three scheduled spacewalks is all done, and the crews of Endeavour and Alpha are settling down to freeze-dried turkey and chicken for their Thanksgiving... um... feast. NASA reports:

    Second Spacewalk Complete
    NASA image of STS-113 Mission Specialist Michael Lopez-AlegriaSTS-113 Mission Specialists John Herrington and Michael Lopez-Alegria successfully completed a Thanksgiving Day spacewalk at [7:46PM EST Thursday/0046 GMT Friday]. During the 6-hour, 10-minute extravehicular activity, they continued activating and outfitting the International Space Stationís P1 (P-One) Truss, which included: connecting fluid lines from the P1 Truss to the S0 (S-Zero) Truss, relocating launch restraints, and relocating a Crew and Equipment Translation Aid, or CETA, cart.
    STS-113 Mission Specialist Michael Lopez-Alegria gathers equipment near the International Space Station's Quest Airlock at the end of the mission's second spacewalk. NASA image.Herrington, with the ... CETA cart firmly in his grasp and attached to the end of Canadarm2, swung from the International Space truss, across Endeavour's cargo bay and onto the Station's Starboard One (S1) truss. There he attached the CETA cart, a kind of handcar for the station's railway, to its sister cart, launched on S1 in October. Peggy Whitson, the station's Expedition 5 NASA ISS Science Officer, was at the arm's controls, helped by her Expedition 6 successor, Don Pettit.
    During the second STS-113 spacewalk, Mission Specialist John Herrington carries a Crew and Equipment Translation Aid, or CETA, cart from the International Space Station's P1 (P-One) Truss to the S1 (S-One) Truss. He is attached to the end of the station's robotic arm, Canadarm2. NASA image.[Herrington and Lopez-Alegria] also installed the second Wireless video system External Transceiver Assembly that will be used to support helmet camera communications for future spacewalkers.
    [Meanwhile,] handover activities aboard the International Space Station continued Thursday. The station's old crew, Expedition Five, briefed and trained its replacements on station systems and procedures. The Expedition Six crew took command of the station from Expedition Five Monday night.
    Friday, the station and shuttle crews will continue to transfer cargo and conduct handover activities. The third STS-113 excursion is targeted to begin at [2:20PM EST/1920 GMT] Saturday.

    Flight Day 5 pics are now available in the NASA Gallery.


  • 28 November - Afternoon Update - EVA #2 is in progress. So is dessert! NASA reports:

    Second Spacewalk Under Way
    In this view from STS-113 Mission Specialist Michael Lopez-Alegria's helmet camera (that's his left glove at bottom), Mission Specialist John Herrington is working to activate the P1 (P-One) Truss. NASA image.Mission Specialists Michael Lopez-Alegria and John Herrington began STS-113's second spacewalk at [1:36PM EST/1836 GMT] today. Their work is focused on activating and outfitting the P1 (P-One) Truss, which was installed onto the International Space Station on Tuesday. Their tasks include connecting fluid lines from the P1 Truss to the S0 (S-Zero) Truss, relocating launch restraints and relocating a Crew Equipment Translation Aid handcar from the P1 to the S1 (S-One) Truss. They are also scheduled to install the second Wireless video system External Transceiver Assembly that will be used to support helmet camera communications from future spacewalkers.
    STS-113 Mission Specialist Michael Lopez-Alegria. NASA image.STS-113 Commander Jim Wetherbee and Pilot Paul Lockhart are providing support to the Thanksgiving Day spacewalkers. Wetherbee is operating Space Shuttle Endeavour's robot arm, and Lockhart is coordinating spacewalk activities. Also, NASA Science Officers Peggy Whitson and Don Pettit are at the controls of the station's robot arm. The spacewalk is the 23rd spacewalk based out of the station and is scheduled to end about [8PM EST today/0100 GMT Friday].

    The spacewalkers are about 30 minutes ahead of their timeline as they begin the next task, removal of keel pins which helped support the truss in Endeavour's cargo bay during launch. The EVA began at 1:36PM EST, almost 45 minutes ahead of schedule.


  • 28 November 2002 - Flight Day 6 - Happy Thanksgiving, everyone! We have turkey and a spacewalk on the menu todayNASA reports:

    Herrington, Lopez-Alegria to Perform Second Spacewalk
    Endeavour pilot Paul Lockhart will assist with today's EVA from inside the orbiter. NASA photo.Endeavour's crew awoke to a Thanksgiving greeting from Houston's Mission Control Center at 7:15 a.m. central time [8:15AM EST/1315GMT] today.
    Mission Specialists Michael Lopez-Alegria and John Herrington will step outside the International Space Station [this afternoon] to perform STS-113's second spacewalk. Their work will focus on activating and outfitting the P1 (P-One) Truss, which was installed onto the International Space Station on Tuesday. Their task will include connecting fluid lines from the P1 Truss to the S0 (S-Zero) Truss, relocating launch restraints and relocating a Crew Equipment Translation Aid handcar from the P1 to the S1 (S-One) Truss. The crew will also install the second Wireless video system External Transceiver Assembly that will be used to support helmet camera communications from future spacewalkers.
    A turkey on a display in the Mission Control Center in Houston, Texas, represents the International Space Station/Space Shuttle Endeavour complex as it flies over central Africa Thanksgiving morning. NASA image.STS-113 Commander Jim Wetherbee and Pilot Paul Lockhart will provide support to the Thanksgiving Day spacewalkers. Wetherbee will operate Space Shuttle Endeavour's robot arm, and Lockhart will coordinate spacewalk activities. Also, NASA Science Officers Peggy Whitson and Don Pettit will be at the controls of the station's robot arm. The spacewalk will be the 23rd spacewalk based out of the station.
    Watch NASA TV on Thanksgiving Day to see coverage of STS-113's second spacewalk. Mission Specialists Michael Lopez-Alegria and John Herrington are slated to begin the extravehicular activity at 1:20 p.m. CST [2:20PM EST/1920 GMT]. NASA TV Schedule

    Check the play-by-play links at right for up-to-the-minute commentary, and watch the action live on NASA TV!


  • 27 November 2002 - Evening Update - Wednesday was spent getting ready for the big Thanksgiving game, er... spacewalkNASA reports:

    STS-113 Astronauts Transfer Cargo, Prepare for Spacewalk
    STS-113 crewmembers participate in interviews with U.S. and Spanish media Wednesday. Clockwise from far left are: Commander Jim Wetherbee, Mission Specialist Michael Lopez-Alegria, Pilot Paul Lockhart and Mission Specialist John Herrington. NASA image.The STS-113 crewmembers on Wednesday continued transferring cargo and prepared for the second of three spacewalks. They transferred supplies and equipment from Space Shuttle Endeavour to the International Space Station that will be used by the Expedition Six crew. They also loaded cargo, including completed experiments, into Endeavour for the return to Earth.
    They prepared for the mission's second spacewalk, which is slated to begin at 1:20 p.m. CST [2:20PM/1920 GMT] Thursday. Mission Specialists Michael Lopez-Alegria and John Herrington will perform the Thanksgiving Day extravehicular activity to continue the activation and outfitting of the station's newly installed P1 (P-One) Truss. Pilot Paul Lockhart will coordinate the spacewalk activities, and Commander Jim Wetherbee will be at the controls of Endeavour's robot arm.
    [ISS] Expedition Five Commander Valery Korzun, Flight Engineer Sergei Treschev and NASA ISS Science Officer Peggy Whitson continued to brief and train the Expedition Six crew on station systems and procedures.
    Watch Jay Leno, host of the Tonight Show, wish [Endeavour] Commander Jim Wetherbee a happy 50th birthday on Nov. 27, 2002. (Hi-res MPG 6.1 Mb; Lo-res MPG 1.9 Mb)

    Flight Day 4 videos are now available in the NASA Gallery.


  • 27 November - Afternoon Update - Work continues aboard the ISS. Also, check info below for the live web chat with John Herrington. NASA reports:

    Expedition Crews to Continue Handover Activities
    Michael Lopez-Alegria assists with Endeavour's docking. The ISS can be seen out the overhead window - how'd you like to have THAT view? NASA photo.Peggy Whitson, International Space Station Expedition 5 NASA science officer, and Expedition 6 Commander Ken Bowersox have begun replacement of valves on the Carbon Dioxide Removal Assembly (CDRA) in the station's Destiny laboratory. The CDRA has continued to function, though it must be restarted frequently. The repair should take about two hours, to be followed by testing. A Russian CO2 removal device on the ISS continues to work well.
    Crewmembers have spent much of their day after their ... wakeup call transferring equipment and supplies to and from Endeavour and the ISS. Handover briefings continue between Expedition 5 crewmembers and their Expedition 6 successors. The astronauts and cosmonauts also continued preparation for tomorrow's spacewalk, the second of three scheduled during Endeavour's stay at the station aimed at connecting and outfitting the station's new Port One (P1) truss segment, delivered by Endeavour and installed Tuesday.

    Will the International Space Station have to be shut down next year?


  • 27 November 2002 - Flight Day 5 - Docked operations continue, with two more spacewalks to get ready for. Endeavour's robot arm, bruised but not broken, was on the job for yesterday's installation of the P1 TrussNASA reports:

    Online Chat with STS-113
    NASA photo of Endeavour astronaut John Herrington.The New York Times Company will host an online conversation with Native American Mission Specialist John Herrington of the STS-113 crew, the governor of the Chickasaw Nation, and former NASA astronaut Charles F. Bolden on Wednesday, November 27. The inflight portion of the event begins at 3:30 p.m. EST [2030 GMT]. Herrington, an Oklahoma member of the Chickasaw Nation, will be the first Native American astronaut to walk in space. Visit the full story link to find out how to join the live conversation.
    STS-113 Crew Completes First Spacewalk
    The crew of Endeavour is scheduled to awaken at [8:20AM EST/1320 GMT] Wednesday. The Expedition Six crew aboard the International Space Station is scheduled to awaken at [8:50AM EST/1350 GMT].
    NASA photo of Space Station Alpha, as seen from Endeavour before docking.On Wednesday, the Endeavour crew will continue the transfer of supplies and equipment to the station, as well as the transfer of experiments and equipment to the shuttle for a return to Earth. The two crews will also prepare for Thursday's second spacewalk of the mission.
    Watch NASA TV at 2:30 p.m. CST [3:30PM EST/2030 GMT] Wednesday to see the STS-113 crew participate in interviews with KFOR-TV in Oklahoma City, Okla., the Chickasaw Times and the Cadena Ser Radio Network. NASA TV Schedule

    More launch pics here.


  • 26 November 2002 - Evening Update - EVA #1 is in the books, with a successful spacewalk outside the ISS today. NASA reports:

    Space Station Grows with Addition of P1
    NASA image of STS-113 spacewalker John Herrington.The first of three STS-113 spacewalks was successfully completed by Mission Specialists John Herrington and Michael Lopez-Alegria at 8:35 p.m. CST [9:35PM EST Tuesday/0235 GMT Wednesday]. During the excursion, they began activating and outfitting the International Space Stationís P1 (P-One) Truss, which was attached to the station prior to the start of the spacewalk.
    Tasks included making connections between the P1 and the S0 (S-Zero) Truss, releasing launch restraints on the Crew and Equipment Translation Aid cart, installing Spool Positioning Devices onto the station and removing a drag link that served as a launch restraint for the P1. Also, they installed a Wireless video system External Transceiver Assembly onto the stationís Unity Module
    Mission Specialists John Herrington, left, and Michael Lopez-Alegria work to activate the International Space Station's newly installed P1 (P-One) Truss close to its junction with the S0 (S-Zero) Truss during STS-113's first spacewalk. NASA image.Pilot Paul Lockhart, who coordinated spacewalk activities from inside Space Shuttle Endeavour, assisted Herrington and Lopez-Alegria. Commander Jim Wetherbee operated the orbiterís robotic arm. This was the 47th spacewalk performed at the International Space Station. The second spacewalk will take place Thanksgiving Day, beginning at 1:20 p.m. CST [2:20PM EST/1920 GMT].

    Flight Day 2 photos and Flight Day 2 and 3 videos are now available in the NASA Gallery.


  • 26 November 2002 - Afternoon Update - The first of this mission's three spacewalks has begun! NASA reports:

    STS-113 Spacewalkers Activating, Outfitting P1 Truss
    The International Space Station's robot arm (foreground) moves the P1 (P-One) Truss into position for installation onto the S0 (S-Zero) Truss. NASA image.The first of three STS-113 spacewalks is under way. Mission Specialists Michael Lopez-Alegria and John Herrington began the excursion at 1:49 p.m. CST [2:49PM EST/1949 GMT].
    Their main task is to begin the activation and outfitting of the P1 (P-One) Truss, which was installed onto the International Space Station at 12:48 p.m. CST [1:48PM EST/1848 GMT] today. They will make connections between the P1 and the S0 (S-Zero) Truss and release launch restraints on the Crew and Equipment Translation Aid, or CETA cart. They will also install a Wireless video system External Transceiver Assembly, which will be used to support helmet camera communications, onto the station's Unity Module.
    The P1 is the fourth component of the Integrated Truss Structure, or ITS, delivered to the station. The 11-piece ITS will eventually expand to about 109 meters (356 feet).
    Pilot Paul Lockhart is coordinating spacewalk activities, and Commander Jim Wetherbee is operating the shuttle's robot arm. The spacewalk, which is based out of the station's Quest Airlock, is slated to wrap up about 8 p.m. CST today [9PM EST Tuesday/0200 GMT Wednesday].

    Stay Tuned...


  • 26 November 2002 - Flight Day 4 - Tuesday will bring the first of three scheduled spacewalks. NASA reports:

    Shuttle Docked with Station
    Space Shuttle Endeavour approaches the International Space Station. NASA image.The six astronauts and one cosmonaut aboard Space Shuttle Endeavour, which launched Saturday night from Kennedy Space Center, docked with the International Space Station [yesterday]. Expedition Six is now the resident crew of the International Space Station, and the Expedition Five crewmembers are now part of the Space Shuttle Endeavourís crew.
    The crew of Endeavour was awakened at 7:26 a.m. CST [8:26AM EST/1326 GMT] Tuesday - the Expedition Six crew, aboard the International Space Station, is scheduled to awaken at 7:50 a.m. [8:50AM EST/1350 GMT]. Today the two crews will work together to install the P1 Truss onto the space station.
    Ken "Sox" Bowersox is now the ISS Commander. NASA photo.Watch NASA TV on Tuesday to coverage of activities associated with the installation of the P1 (P-One) Truss onto the International Space Station. It is scheduled to be attached to the port end of the S0 (S-Zero) Truss at 1 p.m. CST [2PM EST/1900 GMT].
    Then, STS-113 Mission Specialists Michael Lopez-Alegria and John Herrington will conduct the first of the three spacewalks to activate and outfit the P1. The excursion is scheduled to begin at 2:20 p.m. CST [3:30PM EST/2020 GMT]. NASA TV Schedule
    Explore an interactive view of the STS-113 mission. (Flash Player required.)

    Check the play-by-play links at right for up-to-the-minute commentary, and watch the action live on NASA TV!



STS-113 Links...


Play-By-Play:

Spaceflight Now!

Florida Today
Launch   EVA1   EVA2

Space.com

NASA

CBS News


National Geographic's Store has great gift ideas.
Watch Five Years On Mars this Monday (Nov 17) on the National Geographic Channel!
Reference:

Shuttle Press Kit

CNN Mission Guide

SpaceRef Mission Guide

NASA Mission Memo

Flash presentation

See below for ISS links

The Best Computer And Electronics Deals Anywhere, ONLY at TigerDirect!
Banner Hpage_120x240
NASA STS-113 Photo Galleries:

Johnson
Space Center

Kennedy
Space Center

KSC Photo File

Neil Armstrong Bio!
Shuttle Reference:

NASA

Payload Info

USA

The Sportsman's Guide
Name Brand Outdoor and Recreational Gear, Clothing, Hiking, Camping, Hunting and Footwear at heavily discounted prices.
sportsmansguide
Mission News:

Space.com

KSC Liftoff Status

Spaceflight Now!

Florida Today

Houston Chronicle

Shuttle Headlines:

NASA Watch

Google News

Yahoo! News

Discovery Channel

Signature Edition DVD Set
Aircraft and Military Vehicle Models
Banner 10000165
History' Finest Fighting Machines Recreated

Dell
SAVE with Special On-Line Coupons for DELL Computers and Accessories - Click Here!
ISS Reference:

NASA ISS Reference

ISS Guide

SpaceRef ISS Guide

ISS Press Kit

Great Unique Gifts...
15% off for first-time registrants: expires 01/31/04
50% off with purchase: expires 01/31/04
Quadra Special: ongoing
50% off with purchase: expires 01/31/04
... at The Sharper Image
ili_Peppers-125x125
Give the gift of music with iTunes gift certificates
Jump to Space Shuttle coverage
Watch live video on NASA TV!

(Check schedule here).
Live Audio and Video feeds!


Copyright © 1999-2008 Net Engineers. All rights reserved. Top of page Home
Revised: 11 Nov 2008