STS-113 Mission Journal  

STS-113 Mission Journal - Part 3

Note: The links below will open up in one new browser window. For best viewing, size the two web browsers so that they don't take up the entire screen - this way, you will be able to go back and forth to all the stories without losing your place.
Click the Refresh button to make sure you have the newest version.


New! NASA Gifts and more at The Space Store!

Pick up some cool Space Toys for your favorite astronaut this holiday season! Click here...

Check our NASA TV page for live feeds!

Endeavour roars into the starry night. NASA photo KSC-02PD-1806.
SHUTTLE UPDATE:
Endeavour has landed!
Latest news here.

Launch gallery below.
NASA image of STS-113 crew patch, representing the addition of the P1 Truss to Space Station Alpha's structure, as well as the ISS crew exchange.
LEFT: Endeavour lifts off.
RIGHT: STS-113 mission patch.

  • 25 November 2002 - Evening Update - The ten members of the Endeavour and Alpha crews are together now for a week of docked operationsNASA reports:

    Expedition Five Now Shuttle Crewmembers
    Space Shuttle Endeavour closes in on the International Space Station. This NASA image was captured from video from a camera on the end of the station's S1 (S-One) Truss.Space Shuttle Endeavour concluded its chase of the International Space Station when it docked with the orbital outpost at 3:59 p.m. CST [4:59PM EST/2159 GMT] Monday. STS-113 is the 16th shuttle mission to visit the station. Docking occurred as the two spacecraft flew above the southern Pacific Ocean.
    Arriving with Endeavour was the Expedition Six crew, which took control of the station from the Expedition Five crew Monday evening. The Expedition Five crewmembers are now a part of the shuttle crew.

    See Page 4 of our Journal for coverage of the first of three spacewalks scheduled for STS-113.


  • 25 November 2002 - DOCKED! - Contact and capture occurred just before 4PM EST (2100 GMT). NASA reports:

    Endeavour Arrives at ISS
    Space Shuttle Endeavour as seen from the ISS. NASA image.Space Shuttle Endeavour concluded its chase of the International Space Station when it docked with the orbital outpost at 3:59 p.m. CST (2159 GMT) today. STS-113 is the 16th shuttle mission to visit the station. Docking occurred as the two spacecraft flew above the southern Pacific Ocean.
    Arriving with Endeavour was the Expedition Six crew, who will take control of the station from the Expedition Five crew. The Expedition Six and STS-113 crewmembers will enter the station for the first time today about 5:15 p.m. CST [6:15PM EST/2315 GMT].
    NASA image of NASA ISS Science Officer Peggy Whitson, who will become an STS-113 crewmember today.The Expedition Five and Six crews will begin handover activities following a safety briefing by [Expedition Five commander] Korzun. The crews will begin swapping out the custom-made seatliners in the Soyuz spacecraft that serves as the station's crew return vehicle. Once the swap-out is completed, the Expedition Six crew will take command of the station and Expedition Five will become a part of Endeavour's crew. During the remainder of STS-113's weeklong stay, the Expedition crews will conduct handover activities and the station will continue its outward expansion with the addition of the P1 (P-One) Truss.
    [The] Truss is in the orbiter's payload bay. The P1 will be attached to the station Tuesday. STS-113 Mission Specialists Michael Lopez-Alegria and John Herrington will conduct three spacewalks to outfit and activate the new component. The first spacewalk is slated to begin at 2:20 p.m. CST [3:20PM EST/2020 GMT] Tuesday.

    Flight Day 2 videos are now available in the NASA Gallery. More Launch Day videos are up at KSC. New launch pics at Florida Today.


  • 25 November - Afternoon Update - The Shuttle continues its pursuit of Space Station Alpha, where Expedition Five has spent the last 6 months. NASA reports:

    STS-113 to Arrive at Space Station Today
    Aboard Space Shuttle Endeavour, Astronaut Don Pettit prepares a camera for use during rendezvous and docking operations. Endeavour is slated to dock with the station at 3:26 p.m. CST (2136 GMT) today. NASA image.The final phase of Endeavour's rendezvous with the International Space Station is under way. About 1 p.m. central time [2PM EST/1900 GMT], a rendezvous burn, referred to as the Terminal Initiation or TI burn, will begin Endeavour's final approach to the station.
    During STS-113's weeklong stay, the STS-113 crew will perform three spacewalks to activate and outfit the P1 after it is attached to the station Tuesday. Also, the shuttle and station crew will transfer cargo.

    Watch today's docking at 4:26PM EST/2126 GMT on NASA TV, and keep an eye on the play-by-play links at right for up-to-the-minute commentary.


  • 25 November 2002 - Flight Day 3 - Monday will see Endeavour link up with Space Station Alpha, where a new crew will take up residence. NASA reports:

    Endeavour to Arrive at ISS Today
    NASA image of Expedition Six Commander Ken BowersoxSpace Shuttle Endeavour is scheduled to dock with the International Space Station today at 3:26 p.m. CST [4:26PM EST/2126 GMT], delivering the Expedition Six crew and the P1 (P-One) Truss. This morning, Endeavour's crewmembers will make final preparations for this afternoon's linkup, which is scheduled to occur as the spacecraft are flying over the Kazakh/Uzbekistan border.
    Rendezvous operations will begin around 10:35 a.m. [11:35AM EST/1635 GMT] with the final approach phase of the docking beginning about 1 p.m. [2PM EST/1900 GMT]. Hatch opening between the two spacecraft scheduled to occur at 4:45 p.m. CST [5:55PM EST/2245 GMT]. Then, the Expedition Five crew will begin handing over command of the station to Expedition Six.
    After greetings between the two crews, Expedition Five Commander Valery Korzun will conduct a required safety briefing before the crews set to work transferring hardware and equipment from Endeavour to the International Space Station.

    Expedition Six was originally to include astronaut Don Thomas instead of Don Pettit. The substitution was made to protect Thomas from accumulated radiation - but why don't the Russians (who regularly set space endurance records) have this concern?


  • 24 November 2002 - Evening Update - Flight Day 2 draws to a close, as the Endeavour crew approaches the International Space Station. NASA reports:

    Endeavour Chases Station
    LIFTOFF! Endeavour finally gets off the ground Saturday night. NASA photo.At 8:00 p.m. CST today [9PM EST/0200 GMT Monday], Space Shuttle Endeavour was about 2,253 kilometers (1,400 miles) behind the International Space Station and closing. The six astronauts and one cosmonaut aboard the orbiter prepared for their arrival at the station Monday
    Enjoying their first full day on orbit, Endeavour's astronauts successfully checked out operation of the Shuttle's robotic arm and verified operation of the spacesuits that will be worn during three scheduled spacewalks.
    Watch NASA TV on Monday to see the arrival of Space Shuttle Endeavour and the Expedition Six crew at the International Space Station. Endeavour is scheduled to dock at 3:26 p.m. CST [4:26PM EST/2126 GMT]. Then, the hatches will be opened and Expedition Six will enter the station for the first time at 5:17 p.m. CST [6:17PM EST/2317 GMT].

    Check the play-by-play links at right for up-to-the-minute commentary, and watch the action live on NASA TV!


  • 24 November - Afternoon Update - Sunday in Space continues with Endeavour playing catch-up to Space Station AlphaNASA reports:

    Endeavour Chases Station
    Endeavour waits for launch in the Florida twilight. NASA photo KSC-02PD-1803.Endeavour continues its pursuit of the International Space Station today, in preparation for Monday's final rendezvous and docking activities. On board both spacecraft today, the focus is on final preparations for Endeavour's arrival and the exchange of resident crews aboard the International Space Station. Docking is scheduled for 3:26 p.m. central time [4:26PM EST/2126 GMT] Monday.
    At 8:50 a.m. CST [9:50AM EST/1450 GMT] today, Space Shuttle Endeavour was about 4,345 kilometers (2,700 miles) behind the International Space Station and closing. Today, the six astronauts and one cosmonaut aboard the orbiter will prepare for their arrival at the station Monday. They will set up and check out equipment that will be used during rendezvous and docking. Also, Mission Specialists Michael Lopez-Alegria and John Herrington will inspect the spacesuits they will use during the three spacewalks that they will perform at the station to outfit and activate the P1 (P-One) Truss.
    Activities are proceeding smoothly aboard both spacecraft in the early hours of the STS-113 mission.

    Launch headlines and pics below. Launch Day video up at JSC. Watch tonight's Expedition 6 interviews live on NASA TV shortly before 8PM EST tonight (0001 GMT Sunday).


  • 24 November 2002 - Flight Day 2 - Endeavour is chasing the International Space Station, on its way to tomorrow's dockingNASA reports:

    Successful Shuttle Launch
    John Herrington during EVA training in May 2001. NASA photo.At 7:49 p.m. EST on Saturday, Nov.23 [0049 GMT Sunday], the Space Shuttle Endeavour successfully launched from NASA’s Kennedy Space Center in Florida. Among the crew is John Herrington, the first tribally registered Native American astronaut to walk in space. Herrington, along with crewmembers Commander Jim Wetherbee, Pilot Paul Lockhart, and Mission Specialist Michael Lopez-Alegria, will deliver the Expedition Six crew to the International Space Station and return the Expedition Five Crew to the Earth after five months in orbit.
    Endeavour is on track to dock with the space station about 3:30 p.m. central time [4:30PM EST/2130 GMT] on Monday. The Expedition Five crew was notified of Endeavour's on-time launch and the news that their replacement crew was en route.
    The six astronauts and one cosmonaut aboard the Space Shuttle ... are scheduled to awaken at 8:50 a.m. CST [9:50AM EST/1450 GMT]. The crew will spend their day making preparations for Monday's docking with the International Space Station. The Expedition Five crew aboard the space station is scheduled to begin their 173rd day in space at 7:45 a.m. [8:45AM EST/1345 GMT].
    Watch NASA TV at [7:55PM EST Sunday/0055 GMT Monday) to see the Expedition Six crew participate in interviews with USA Today and the AP Radio Network. NASA TV Schedule

    Launch pics and video are up at KSC. Launch headlines below.



STS-113 Links...


Play-By-Play:

Spaceflight Now!

Florida Today

Space.com

NASA

CBS News


National Geographic's Store has great gift ideas.
Watch Five Years On Mars this Monday (Nov 17) on the National Geographic Channel!
Reference:

Shuttle Press Kit

CNN Mission Guide

SpaceRef Mission Guide

NASA Mission Memo

Flash presentation

See below for ISS links

The Best Computer And Electronics Deals Anywhere, ONLY at TigerDirect!
Banner Hpage_120x240
NASA STS-113 Photo Galleries:

Johnson
Space Center

Kennedy
Space Center

KSC Photo File

Neil Armstrong Bio!
Shuttle Reference:

NASA

Payload Info

USA

The Sportsman's Guide
Name Brand Outdoor and Recreational Gear, Clothing, Hiking, Camping, Hunting and Footwear at heavily discounted prices.
sportsmansguide
Mission News:

Space.com

KSC Liftoff Status

Spaceflight Now!

Florida Today

Houston Chronicle

Shuttle Headlines:

NASA Watch

Google News

Yahoo! News

Discovery Channel

Signature Edition DVD Set
Aircraft and Military Vehicle Models
Banner 10000165
History' Finest Fighting Machines Recreated

Dell
SAVE with Special On-Line Coupons for DELL Computers and Accessories - Click Here!
ISS Reference:

NASA ISS Reference

ISS Guide

SpaceRef ISS Guide

ISS Press Kit

Great Unique Gifts...
15% off for first-time registrants: expires 01/31/04
50% off with purchase: expires 01/31/04
Quadra Special: ongoing
50% off with purchase: expires 01/31/04
... at The Sharper Image
ili_Peppers-125x125
Give the gift of music with iTunes gift certificates
Jump to Space Shuttle coverage
Watch live video on NASA TV!

(Check schedule here).
Live Audio and Video feeds!


Copyright © 1999-2008 Net Engineers. All rights reserved. Top of page Home
Revised: 11 Nov 2008